Deleting VM and SQL instances - 2FA, time limited soft delete
Appearantly it is really easy to delete for example a VM or database instance. There is no password asked, no big red warning, no 2FA, nothing. I read loads of users that accidentally deleted there VM or SQL instance.
And, we cannot restore anything after we done it. There is no soft-delete. For example, soft-delete it for like 2 hours, and only then permanently delete. It is now unrecoverable, with just a click of the button.
Also, since backups are stored on the instance itself in Cloud SQL, you cannot restore the instance or databases unless you have manually made an export recently.
I think it is unbeleivable that for such important actions, no password or 2FA is required.
Please give us an option to enable 2FA! I want to confirm with my phone when a VM or SQL instance is deleted.
What if someone got into my account and just delets everything?
What if I accidentally delete something?
I see issues about this from years and years ago, but Google hasn't improved a thing. Please, do something about this!
Tomáš Pytel commented
I think, this is a must! +1